Skip to content
Tonight at Noon

To Mingus, With Love


Kuvat/ Photos: Olli Suutela & Aki Suvanto, Design: Aki Suvanto

Album information

PerformerTonight at Noon
LabelProphone Records

André Sumelius

Where recordedMaster Recording Studios


Tonight at Noon, the quintet led by André Sumelius released To Mingus, With Love, an album of songs composed by legendary bassist, Charles Mingus, on April 2011. The group, consisting of young stars of the Finnish jazz scene, is known for their explosively energetic and swinging live performances.

The tribute album To Mingus, With Love was born out of the shared love within the group of Charles Mingus' (1922-1979) music. Tonight at Noon's goal was to perform the gospel influenced hard bop compositions in their own way, featuring their internationally renowed and creative soloists.

In addition to Sumelius at the drums, the group features award-winning saxophonist, Mikko Innanen, saxophonist Jussi Kannaste, trumpeter Jukka Eskola and organist Mikko Helevä. Swedish Prophone Records will release the album as a part of their Prophone Finnish jazz series.

Tonight at Noon, together since 2008, found this a fitting moment to see the release of their first album, having performed the many-faceted and intimate works of Mingus for years. As an additional point of interest, the group chose to record the album analogically, to two-inch tape, utilizing the warmth and dynamic scope of the music to it's full capacity.


  1. Jump Monksäv. Charles Mingus
  2. Pithecanthropus Erectussäv. Charles Mingus
  3. Ecclusiasticssäv. Charles Mingus
  4. Fables of Faubessäv. Charles Mingus
  5. Duke Ellington's Sound of Lovesäv. Charles Mingus
  6. East-costingsäv. Charles Mingus
  7. What Love?säv. Charles Mingus
  8. Jelly Rollsäv. Charles Mingus