Skip to content
Nina Mya



Album information

PerformerNina Mya
LabelFredriksson Music


Closure is the third album by vocalist Nina Mya. 

Entitled Closure, the third album by Mya is a mature effort – a new strong chapter to her convincing CV. The album’s themes – knowing oneself and the strife for inner peace – are well in keeping with its style: Mya’s dark, gospel- and soul-influenced music departs refreshingly from the familiar Finnish sound. The album also introduces her new, stellar crew: trumpeter Jukka Eskola, saxophonist Petri Puolitaival, pianist Henri Mäntylä, bassist Jori Huhtala and drummer Tuomas Timonen. The album launching show took place at Pori Jazz Festival on 15 July 2016. 

Closure is already my third album but no doubt the most significant one so far,” Nina Mya says. “With this album I feel, for the very first time, that there is nothing I would be at odds with or done differently. While nodding to such idols as Aretha Franklinand John Coltrane, the album pays homage to American vocal jazz on a more general level – including its strong undercurrent of gospel. This tradition can be heard in my influences Dinah Washington, Nancy Wilson and Gregory Porter.”

The lyrics are by the leading lady, while in writing she has been assisted by saxophonist Petri Puolitaival. In addition to original material, the album features a few well-known classics – such as “Afro Blue” by Mongo Santamaria and the gospel evergreen “The Wayfaring Stranger” – in new arrangements.  Mya’s strong presence and the classy swing of the new band are in the centre of the album.


  1. The Wayfaring Stranger / Shades Of Blue(trad. Music & lyrics Nina Mya, Arr. Petri Puolitaival)
  2. The Weight(Music & lyrics Nina Mya, Arr. Petri Puolitaival)
  3. Mine Alone(Music Nina Mya & Petri Puolitaival, Lyrics Nina Mya, Arr. Petri Puolitaival)
  4. Afro Blue(Music Mongo Santamaria, Lyrics Oscar Brown, Arr. Nina Mya & Petri Puolitaival)
  5. After One Night(Music & Arr. Petri Puolitaival, Lyrics Nina Mya)
  6. Too Painful to Talk About(Music & Lyrics Nina Mya, Arr. Petri Puolitaival)
  7. Tenderly(Music Walter Gross, Lyrics Jack Lawrence, Arr. Nina Mya)
  8. Hear Me Plead (Introduction)(Music & Arr. Petri Puolitaival)
  9. Hear Me Plead(Music & Arr. Petri Puolitaival, Lyrics Nina Mya)
  10. Gotta Be Free(Music & Lyrics Nina Mya, Arr. Petri Puolitaival)
  11. Closure(Music & Lyrics Nina Mya)
  12. Dr. Feelgood (Love Is A Serious Business)(Music & Lyrics Ted White & Aretha Franklin, Arr. Petri Puolitaival)