Skip to content
Verneri Pohjola Quartet
Verneri Pohjola



Album information

PerformerVerneri Pohjola Quartet
Verneri Pohjola
LabelEdition Records
Where recordedPetrax Studiot, Hollola


The third album of the much-praised trumpeter Verneri Pohjola, "Bullhorn" was issued by British Edition Records.

Bullhorn has been hailed by many as the recording that marks Pohjola's emergence as a mature artist instead of "rising star" – an epithet often used to describe him so far.  Behind the release we find the acclaimed British label Edition Records that has in recent years brought out the releases of two other Finnish groups and artists: Oddarrang and pianist Alexi Tuomarila.

Pohjola’s musical vision is realised by three confreres from the top of Finnish jazz. Pianist Aki Rissanen, bassist Antti Lötjönen and drummer Teppo Mäkynen are the right crew to do justice to Pohjola’s brooding compositions.

Bullhorn captures the joyful, spontaneous give-and-take between the group members, giving yet a deeper level to the release itself. “The compositions approach elegiac, fragile soundscapes and lyricity, which I love, but there are also some rough edges and lofty moments on the album – basically everything that I want to express by my music”, Pohjola says.


  1. Another Day5:53
  2. Girls of Costa Rica9:01
  3. He Sleeps, I Keep Watch5:33
  4. Bullhorn7:28
  5. In La Borie6:22
  6. This One Is For You2:28
  7. Nanomachines6:36
  8. Ouroboros6:29
  9. Cold Blooded5:16
  10. The End Is Nigh7:44