Skip to content
Susanna Aleksandra

The Siren


Album information

PerformerSusanna Aleksandra
TypeLP, CD, digi
LabelEclipse Music


The album The Siren by Estonian jazz singer Susanna Aleksandra was completed with pianist Joonas Haavisto as the producer of the album. The collection of original compositions, folk songs and standards compiled by Susanna Aleksandra and Haavisto exudes elegance and charm with strong respect for the tradition of jazz music.

Susanna Aleksandra is a real citizen of the world whose career has taken her around the world, from Paris to Los Angeles before settling in Helsinki. In the Finnish jazz scene, she has worked with front-line Finnish jazz composers, i.a. Jukka Eskola, Teemu Viinikainen and Riitta Paakki.

The Siren highlights Susanna’s strength as a songwriter. The depth of the songs blends seamlessly with the cutting-edge production.

Susanna’s debut album Miracles was released in 2015 and was followed up in the spring of 2020 with Souls of the Night, which was only released in the Japanese market. The Siren is an updated version of the material on the album Souls of the Night and is now being released for the first time outside of Japan.

Susanna Aleksandra - lead vocal
Joonas Haavisto - piano, synthesizer
Joonas Tuuri - double bass
Ville Pynssi - drums
Abdissa ”Mamba” Assefa - percussion (track 5)


  1. The Siren(Susanna Aleksandra Veldi)
  2. Your Path(Joonas Haavisto)
  3. Clumsy(Susanna Aleksandra Veldi)
  4. Blame it on My Youth(Oscar Levant/Edward Heyman)
  5. Summer Came Early(Susanna Aleksandra Veldi)
  6. The Love Song(Susanna Aleksandra Veldi)
  7. Souls of the Night(Joonas Haavisto)
  8. Ever Afters(Susanna Aleksandra Veldi)
  9. Let’s Call it a Day(Susanna Aleksandra Veldi)
  10. Ruusu Laaksossa(Finnish folk tune arr. by Joonas Haavisto)
  11. I Will(Susanna Aleksandra Veldi / Joonas Haavisto)