Skip to content
Sanna Ruohoniemi

Start from Nothing


Album information

PerformerSanna Ruohoniemi
LabelEclipse Music

All compositions and lyrics by Sanna Ruohoniemi, except ”Moon song” – lyrics by Ika Yébenes Herce and Sanna Ruohoniemi, ”Luullahan jotta on lysti olla” – Finnish trad, arr. by Sanna Ruohoniemi, ”Bakom fasaden” – lyrics by Sanna Ruohoniemi and Anders Björklund.

Produced by Sanna Ruohoniemi
Recorded, edited, mixed and mastered by Johannes Lundberg at Studio Epidemin, Gothenburg, Sweden on April-July 2018

Where recordedGothenburg, Sweden


Sanna Ruohoniemi is one of the most interesting vocal jazz / improvised music creators of her generation in the Nordics, both as a vocalist and composer. Her second album, Start from Nothing continues the bold and self-determined journey into the world of modern vocal jazz, offering a rich and vibrant combination of what jazz music can be all about.
Album was released in Finland on the 21st of September, and internationally on October 12th, followed by an international tour starting from Helsinki, Finland.

Sanna Ruohoniemi (FI) – vocals & compositions
Erik Tengholm (SE) – trumpet
David Bennet (SE) – alto saxophone
Joona Toivanen (FI) – piano
Arvid Jullander (SE) – bass
Simon Andersson (SE) – drums


  1. Start from Nothing
  2. Moon Song
  3. Over the Line
  4. Luullahan jotta on lysti olla
  5. Bakom fasaden
  6. I'm the One (Behind the Wheel)
  7. Day of Thirst
  8. Solivagant