Skip to content
Teemu Viinikainen

Songs of Silence


Cover: Aarni Ylinen

Album information

PerformerTeemu Viinikainen
TypeLP, CD, digi
LabelEclipse Music

Sovitukset: Teemu Viinikainen
Äänitys ja miksaus: Sami Sallinen, JaBa Studios, Hankasalmi

Masterointi: Jaakko Viitalähde, Virtalähde Mastering

Valokuvat: Ville Paul Paasimaa

Kannen suunnittelu: Aarni Ylinen

Albumi äänitetty livenä studiossa, ei jälkiäänityksiä

Where recordedJaBa Studios, Hankasalmi


Jazz guitarist Teemu Viinikainen's album Songs of silence offers soulful solo arrangements of compositions by such seminal artists as Thelonious Monk and Charles Mingus.

Teemu Viinikainen, recognized with the Finnish Jazz Federation's Yrjö Prize and the Sony Jazz award, as well as an Emma award nomination, has over the years played in the ranks of numerous top bands, e.g. the ensembles of Jukka Perko, Eero Koivistoinen and Jukkis Uotila and has collaborated with top international names such as Joe Lovano, Tim Hagans and Randy Brecker.

Songs of silence features typical elements of the sovereign instrumentalist and soulful interpreter, such as expressiveness, swing and virtuosity. However, a strong sense of presence, sensitivity and the beautiful tones of the guitar emerge as the overriding features in the music.

Viinikainen's exceptional ability in music is confirmed by his sustained and ambitious attitude. He started playing at the age of 7 and performed for the first time at the age of 12. Later, Viinikainen studied at the Helsinki Pop & Jazz Conservatory and then at the jazz department of the Sibelius Academy, where he graduated with a master's degree in music in 2005. In the same year, his first album Tales of Robert Dickson was released.

Songs of Silence is Viinikainen's fifth solo release. In addition to his own production, Viinikainen has been one of Finland's most sought-after studio guitarists for years, and has performed on dozens of recordings, e.g. with Vesa-Matti Loiri, Verneri Pohjola, Jukka Perko and numerous other top artists.


  1. Ask Me Now(Monk)
  2. Rakastan elämää(Kolmanovsky)
  3. Evidence(Monk)
  4. Prologue(Viinikainen)
  5. Tea in the Sahara(Sting)
  6. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat(Mingus)
  7. Windows(Corea)
  8. Come Sunday(Ellington)