Skip to content
Joonas Haavisto Trio



Album information

PerformerJoonas Haavisto Trio


Joonas Haavisto Trio released their fifth album Offshore with German record Label Membran.

Joonas Haavisto Trio has been playing together over ten years and has established a status of one of the most interesting Nordic jazz bands in Finland and abroad. Compositions by Haavisto combine strong melodies and long and thematic tunes to some more free-range sequences. In addition to tradition of scandinavian jazz, the album is inspired also by classical music and hip hop. Offshore asks the listener to stop and feel the peace and power of the sea.

Trio consists of pianist Joonas Haavisto, and some other top musicians in Finnish jazz: Antti Lötjönen (bass) and Joonas Riippa (drums). The record is featured also by guitarist Teemu Viinikainen.

”Joonas Haavisto is one of the most talented pianists of his generation.” - Tobias Rapp, Der Spiegel

”World class trio from Europe.” - Hiroki Sugita, Jazz Perspective

”A supreme Nordic piano trio album with outstanding spatial perception and beautiful melodies.” - Jazz Critiques Mag (Gradation, 2018)

”The more I listen, the richer the music becomes. It wraps you with indescribable euphoria - the pleasure of jazz.” - Jazz Japan (Gradation, 2018)


  1. Surge
  2. Moriens
  3. Sitka
  4. Fight Mode
  5. Sigh
  6. Emigrantvisa
  7. Polar Night
  8. At the Dock