Skip to content
Tomi Salesvuo East Funk Attack

Nothing's Enough


Album information

PerformerTomi Salesvuo East Funk Attack
TypeLP, CD, digi
  • Heikki Laine
  • Ilmari Aitoaho
  • Matias Kiiveri
  • Taru Ratilainen
  • Tomi Salesvuo
  • Ukko Heinonen
LabelEclipse Music
Genrefunk / funk-rock / soul


Helsinki based sextet East Funk Attack continue their previous work with Nothing’s Enough. A 10-track extravaganza of all things funk, it includes diverse guitar tones and rhythms, whilst making space for each instrument in its own right. Composer Tomi Salesvuo brings the group together in musical snapshots of their world ranging from under three to over seven minutes of pure funk rhythms.

On this release, the band does what they love best and get down into the feel of the music, with tracks like Drummer’s Life and the frantic Wasted, a massive release of funk energy. Layers of guitar, vocal riffs, and complex bass patterns all interplay with syncopated drums to create music which speaks not just through singing but through uncanny sounds and textures. The raw humanity behind the album is apparent and the band’s sense of fun and love for playing shines through.

East Funk Attack is a powerful funk rock sextet which holds nothing back in terms of fat sounds, thick bass, groove, and attitude. Formed by drummer-composer Tomi Salesvuo, his driving beats underpin layers of guitar and inject each track with hi-octane musical fuel. Singer Taru Ratilainen, guitarist Matias Kiiveri, and bassist Heikki Laine fill out the sound to the max while Ukko Heinonen on sax and keyboardist Ilmari Aitoaho complete the group with irresistible harmonies and melody lines.

The band has now been active for seven years and is still going strong; aside from their LPs they have also released a live studio EP which adds even more funk energy and connection between the musicians. Born from a Helsinki gig night when Salesvuo decided to combine his love for rock, funk, and jazz, East Funk Attack has gone from strength to strength, receiving press attention for their rhythm, energy and celebration of funk, bringing new life into the genre with their own twist.   


  1. Do This
  2. Help Me
  3. I Feel Surreal
  4. Nothing´s Enoughfeat. Verneri Pohjola
  5. Why Don´t You Do It?
  6. Wasted
  7. Knock Me Down
  8. Queen
  9. Drummer´s Lifefeat. Anssi Nykänen, Mikko Kaakkuriniemi, Mamba Assefa