Skip to content
Ilmiliekki Quartet

Land of Real Men


Album information

PerformerIlmiliekki Quartet
Type2LP / cd / digi
LabelWe Jazz Records

Sävellykset: 4., 5. & 7. Verneri Pohjola, 2. & 6. Tuomo Prättälä, 3. Olavi Louhivuori, 1. Laurie Anderson, 8. Tony Scherr & Leslie Feist
Tuotanto: Ilmiliekki Quartet & Matti Nives
Äänitys: Niko Laasonen / G Livelab, Helsinki 27.2.2018
Miksaus: Mikko Raita
Masterointi: Svante Forsbäck / Chartmakers
Kuvat: Mathias Foster & Perttu Saksa
Liner notes & design: Matti Nives



Ilmiliekki Quartet released their album Land of Real Men after 13 years of wait. Deep, adventurous and melodic contemporary jazz is heard in a double album, that returns the quartet of Verneri Pohjola, Tuomo Prättälä, Antti Lötjönen and Olavi Louhivuori back to the frontline of new jazz.

Ilmiliekki Quartet releases new music after a thirteen-year break. Land of Real Men rises above the expectations and offers eight fiery pieces on a grand gatefold double vinyl, CD and digital format. The style spectrum of Land of Real Men is extensive, but the Ilmiliekki sound is invariably hearable. The ensemble plays melodic, captivating and deep jazz music, as the first single from the album of the same name presents. “Land of Real Men” is rhythmically constructed power song that has lately risen to a key role in the band’s concerts.

Ilmiliekki Quartet, formed in 2002, consists of trumpeter Verneri Pohjola, pianist Tuomo Prättälä, bassist Antti Lötjönen and drummer Olavi Louhivuori. Already in the beginning of its career, the ensemble gain international reputation by winning the Young Nordic Jazz Comets competition. The members are familiar names for everyone who has followed Finnish jazz scene on this century.

The album covers feature photography, taken at night time in Helsinki’s Kumpula, where the “real men’s land” leaves open for interpretations. The album’s LP and CD versions come with liner notes, which reflect the birth of the album. The editor is Matti Nives, who produced the album together with the band.


  1. O Superman
  2. Singharat Soi 1
  3. Afterimage
  4. Twisted Thistle
  5. II Maleki
  6. Ravelogue
  7. Land of Real Men
  8. Lonely Lonely