Skip to content
Eero Koivistoinen Quartet
Eero Koivistoinen

Hati Hati


Album information

PerformerEero Koivistoinen Quartet
Eero Koivistoinen
TypeCD + LP + digi
LabelSvart Records


Finnish label Svart Records released Eero Koivistoinen Quartet’s debut album Hati Hati in CD, LP and digital format on 27 February 2015.

"Eero Koivistoinen is one of the mainstays of jazz in his part of the world, a true elder statesman. Finland has some of the best trained musicians around who are completely aware of the jazz legacy, versed in modern harmony and ways of thinking. The album Hati Hati is what I consider a real hard-core contemporary jazz recording, without any concessions to popular culture or some of the excesses of the musical period we live in. There is a palpable sense of honesty, thought, experience and commitment that is apparent from the first note." – Dave Liebman

Eero Koivistoinen has had many different ensembles on his long career as a jazz musician, this is the latest. The quartet plays mostly Eero's own compositions - new and older. The music is based on modern jazz tradition but has personal angles. Koivistoinen's long connection with Africa is presented in the group's rhythmic expression but also hints of Finnish folk music can be heard in their music.

Hati Hati was recorderd back in 2009 at Yleisradio studios and mixed in the autumn 2014. In additition to Koivistoinen the album features pianist Alexi Tuomarila, bassist Jori Huhtala and drummer Jussi Lehtonen.


  1. Hati Hati
  2. Seaside
  3. Relations
  4. Times They Are a-Changing
  5. Moz
  6. Things
  7. Far North
  8. Helium