Skip to content
Quartet Ajaton



Cover art by Otto Mäkilä (Summer Night, detail, Ateneum Art Museum); Photo by Antti Kuivalainen / Finnish National Gallery; Cover design by Aarni Ylin

Album information

PerformerQuartet Ajaton
Type12'' vinyl + digi
LabelEclipse Music

Produced - Mia Simanainen

Recorded, mixed and  mastered  – Ilari Suonpää


Ajaton, led by vocalist Mia Simanainen, is formed by Henrik Sandås, Mikko Perkola and Kari Ikonen. Their debut album Elixir was released by Eclipse Music in September 2016.

Unique, familiar but unknown Ajaton creates four-dimensional music, that demolishes the definitions into dust from ancient times; the musicians representing different eras and styles with their rare instruments adapt together in this band. The quartet and its repertoire are a collection of exceptions, where improvised landscapes, folk phrases, middle age lute songs and original compositions flow as a unique synthesis.

Mia Simanainen (voice),
Henrik Sandås (bandoneon),
Kari Ikonen (Moog synthesizer),
Mikko Perkola (viola da gamba).


  1. A Day Grew SmallWords By [Poem] – Emily Dickinson; Written by – Mia Simanainen
  2. Aparani ParArmenian trad.
  3. Weep You No MoreJohn Dowland
  4. Fado In MoscouMikko Perkola
  5. Has The Fly Been Killed YetTranslated by [Transl.] – Martin Allwood; Words by [Poem] – Lauri Viita; Written by – Kari Ikonen
  6. Luna 17 BKari Ikonen
  7. The Self BanishedWords by [Poem] – Edmund Waller; Written by – John Blow