Skip to content
Jussi Lehtonen Quartet



Album information

PerformerJussi Lehtonen Quartet
TypeCD, digi
LabelEclipse Music

Recording: Miikka Huttunen (Koko Jazz Club & Sibelius Academy)
Mixing and mastering: Tommi Vainikainen

Where recordedKoko Jazz Club & Sibelius Academy


Drummer Jussi Lehtonen, who received the Yrjö Prize in the autumn of 2018, released a new album Connection on September 4th, 2020 with his quartet.

In addition to leader Jussi Lehtonen, the quartet is completed by pianist Holger Marjamaa, double bassist Heikko Remmel and saxophonist Joonatan Rautio. The single Moonshine was immediately noticed on the international Jazz X-press playlist at Spotify.

Connection cements the quartet as one of the best representatives of its genre in the Nordic countries. Based strongly in the jazz tradition, the band gets off to a strong start right from the first song.

“The name of the album refers to a musical connection that I feel very strong with all these musicians. All of us understand and hear things with a certain sensitivity, and are able to react to things quickly. Mastery of the musical language and tremendous craftsmanship provide excellent opportunities for a swinging ensemble! I look forward to making music with these great gentlemen every time ", says Lehtonen.


  1. Moonshine
  2. The Last Waltz
  3. On Beat
  4. Day 10
  5. Timeout
  6. Third Step
  7. Song for Hope
  8. Conception(comp. George Shearing)