Skip to content
Juhani Aaltonen Quartet



Album information

PerformerJuhani Aaltonen Quartet
LabelTUM Records

Petri Haussila

Where recordedMango Studios, Magnusborg, Porvoo, Finland


Conclusions can be seen to reflect the long career of the Finnish tenor saxophone giant Juhani Aaltonen through ten new compositions by the members of the quartet that includes pianist/harpist Iro Haarla, bass player Ulf Krokfors and drummer Reino Laine, who are all mature masters in their own instrument.

A staple on the Nordic jazz scene for five decades, Aaltonen was deeply inspired by John Coltrane's legendary concerts in Helsinki in the early 1960's but has long since developed a sound and concept fully his own. With the recently formed Juhani Aaltonen Quartet, Aaltonen has re-connected with musicians representing a link to different phases in his career.

On Conclusions, Aaltonen takes stock of his musical past. Although his music moves to a new, more reflective level with this quartet, it still always places a strong accent on free improvisation. The album offers a persuasive argument in support of the contention that Juhani Aaltonen is stronger than ever.



  1. Shimmer of Fallen Starssäv. Iro Haarla
  2. Rondasäv. Juhani Aaltonen
  3. Rautapallosäv. Ulf Krokfors
  4. Blessingsäv. Iro Haarla
  5. Good Old Timessäv. Juhani Aaltonen
  6. Agapesäv. Iro Haarla
  7. Never Ending Seasäv. Ulf Krokfors
  8. Consolationsäv. Juhani Aaltonen
  9. Reflectionssäv. Juhani Aaltonen
  10. Ice Breakingsäv. Iro Haarla