Skip to content
Mighty Mighty

See the Light


Album information

PerformerMighty Mighty
LabelSchema Records

Kari Setälä

Where recordedEspoo, February 2012


See the Light is the debut album of sextet Mighty Mighty. The album that draws from the rich soil of the 60s and 70s tradition came out on the Milan-based Schema Records.

Mighty Mighty is a sextet lead by pianist Kari Setälä. The group, formed by six A-listers of the Finnish jazz scene, was founded in 2009. The debut See the Light was recorded already in early 2012 but it was not released before 2014. The album came out on the prestigious Milan-based record label, Schema Records, in January. Schema is known to the Finnish jazz audience also as the publisher of Jukka Eskola’s and Timo Lassy’s newest releases.

See the Light introduced a quintet spiced up by Assefa’s percussion that strode confidently from the intense swing of classic hard bop to more electric moods, and exploring everything in between. The debut that falls into two halves that differ in their sonic landscape and influence has been praised by domestic and international jazz media alike for its subtle versatility, carried out with a consummate taste. The album was released also in the United States, Japan, Australia, and around Europe.

"Tremendous swinging hard bop from a great Finnish band lead by pianist Kari Setala. The musicianship is superb and tight throughout. Backyard Boogie and Karma are full-on dancefloor jazz killers. This excellent album could turn out to be one of the best jazz albums of 2014. " - Echoes Magazine, UK

"A great debut from an ultra-jazzy combo from the Finnish scene. Leader Kari Setala's got a mighty great touch on both piano and keyboards." - Dusty Groove, USA

"Plenty plenty grooves on here! Very nice." - Chris Phillips, Jazz FM, UK


  1. Backyard BoogieJorma Kalevi Louhivuori
  2. See the LightKari Setälä
  3. Once AgainKari Setälä
  4. Dark SunKari Setälä
  5. SimbaKari Setälä
  6. Seventh SignRon Miller, arr. Kari Setälä
  7. KarmaKari Setälä
  8. Too HighStevie Wonder, arr. Kari Setälä
  9. Time's UpKari Setälä