Skip to content
Elektro GT

Mikko Hassinen Elektro GT


Album information

PerformerElektro GT
LabelTexicalli Records Oy


Elektro GT plays jazz with a generous load of electronic elements and driving rhythms. They released their eponymous debut album in September 2014.

With each member coming from a slightly different musical background, the heterogeneity of the band's influences becomes even greater. Drummer Hassinen has made a long career in the fields of jazz, art music and electronic music, while Louhivuori is perhaps known first and foremost as a jazz artist. Rissanen's musical roots, in turn, spring from a firmly classical soil, while Kämäräinen's comfort zone lies somewhere in the middle of jazz and rock. Porra, then again, comes from heavy metal circles and he has worked in the sphere of film music. He is substituted on tour by the soul and funk man Heikki Laine.

As pidgeonholing is of no use here, one might as well lay back and let Elektro GT's "electro shock jazz" wash over. Mikko Hassinen Elektro GT is their debut album, and it came out on Texicalli Records in September 2014. They were seen on stage at Jazz Finland Festival and Tampere Jazz Happening around the time of the release.



  1. Jam Pan Blues7:26
  2. Coleus Under The Sea / Chipmunk11:09
  3. Markow4:26
  4. Hill Cape8:15
  5. Samarin4:24
  6. Nightwish5:10
  7. Thermo Gear Soft5:25