Skip to content
Teemu Kekkonen



Cover © Teemu Kekkonen

Album information

PerformerTeemu Kekkonen

Sävellys (pl. Matkustaja, säv. Knipi), sovitus, tuottaja, kannet: Teemu Kekkonen
Äänitys & miksaus: Mikko Raita
Masterointi: Darius van Helfteren

Where recordedKallio-kuninkala


Rising star pianist Teemu Kekkonen's debut album Here/There showcases just the sort of hidden gems are prime for discovering.

Fresh from his studies at the famed Conservatorium van Amsterdam, Teemu Kekkonen leads his piano trio through a set of original music drenched with charm, sensitivity and the style of melodic interplay which put Scandinavian Jazz on the map. Compatriots Mikael Saastamoinen (bass) and Roope Kantonen (drums) provide not just the perfect foundation for these melodic adventures, but hint at yet another enduring trio outfit for the European scene.

Raised on his father's record collection, the Finnish pianist spent his early years dipping between jazz stalwarts such as Chick Corea and Bill Evans and homegrown heroes like pianist-composer Iiro Rantala. Grounded by thoughtful composition Here/There takes the listener on a series of musical adventures; improvisatory journeys which rise from warm, familiar melodies and subtle lilting grooves and cacophonous trio passages complete with rhythmic interplay and ear-catching effects.

Whilst the music gives more than a passing nod to modern influences like Vijay Iyer, Brad Mehldau and The Bad Plus, Kekkonen's openness to everythin g from Ravel to pop, gospel and traditional Finnish music provides a highly individual twist on the classic trio format, for an experience that is equally calming and exhilarating.


  1. Here/There
  2. Moksha
  3. Dragonfly Meditation
  4. Dragonflies in July
  5. Melancholia
  6. Matkustaja(säv. Knipi)
  7. Endless Joy
  8. Smile