Skip to content

Green Side Up


Kansitaide/ Cover art: Mikko Innanen, Suunnittelu/ Design:

Album information

LabelILK Music


Where recordedKarmacrew Studio, Copenhagen, Denmark



Listening to the music of DELIRIUM feels like an exciting journey, delving headlong into the multi-faceted jazz from the northern latitudes. The group, consisting of four leading figures of the European jazz and improvised music scene, three Danes and a Finn; four genuine musical trailblazers of their generation.

“Green Side Up” is their third release, and a follow-up to two critically acclaimed DELIRIUM CDs: ‘’Delirium’’ (Fiasko Records, 2002) and ‘’Eclexistence’’ (TUM Records, 2005).

‘’Green Side Up’’ was recorded in Copenhagen in the autumn of 2009 after an exceptionally fruitful period for the group, following North American and European tours with performances at such prestigious festivals as The Rochester
International Jazz Festival and The Vancouver Jazz Festival.

“Green Side Up’’ features ten original compositions by Innanen, Tranberg
and Westergaard and brings out a fresh, new perspective of group interplay –
an interplay that has been groomed over 12 years of playing together. Tonal
fireworks, haunting melodies, locked-in grooves, far-out abstractions,
percussive explosions, solid swing, a deep and heartfelt feeling of the
blues; the soulful essence of the musical expression of DELIRIUM.


  1. Dithers for schwitterssäv. Jonas Westergaard
  2. Sunspotssäv. Kasper Tranberg
  3. The blues in yellow roomsäv. Mikko Innanen
  4. The coda of Ornette Coleman’s blues connotation and other sources of inspirationsäv. Mikko Innanen
  5. Sudden happinesssäv. Mikko Innanen
  6. Brederode bolerosäv. Mikko Innanen
  7. Green side up – the geography of breakfastsäv. Kasper Tranberg
  8. Clustrophysäv. Mikko Innanen
  9. Confessions of a congressmansäv. Mikko Innanen
  10. North American territory suitesäv. Jonas Westergaard