Skip to content

Jussi Lehtonen has composed a album of intense, colourful material inclusively for his debut album ensemble.  All the quintet's musicians have strong individual voices and they have acclaimed careers in leading their own bands. Instead of letting the visions collide, Lehtonen's compositions have all the unique styles and voices complementing each other.  Joonatan Rautio, Teemu Viinikainen, Aki Rissanen and Jori Huhtala truly sound like a band. 

The legendary saxophonist Dave Liebman has worked for a long time with drummer-composer Lehtonen and his enthusiasm over the 2017 Move On album (Svart Records) is contagious: 

“Playing with Jussi over the years has been a wonderful experience, watching him expand and grow as a drummer, but especially as a composer. The writing here is superb covering a variety of styles with great playing by the band. Lyricism is abundant as is fire and ice. I know this rhythm section well and they are world class, even beyond. My compliments to all the musicians for their wonderful musicianship and flexibility handling the material. GREAT MUSIC!!”