Skip to content

Jussi Fredriksson Jazz Wars

Jussi Fredriksson Jazz Wars

Kansi/ Cover: Pekka Tuppurainen

The Jazz Wars consist of pianist Jussi Fredriksson’s two four-part compositions where the mood shifts from high-flown battle episodes to more subtle tones. Alongside Fredriksson, there’s the absolute cream of Finnish jazz, with Joonatan Rautio on saxophone, Jukka Eskola on trumpet, Marzi Nyman on guitar, Jori Huhtala on bass and Jussi Lehtonen on drums.

Jazz Wars’ compositions form a whole that references different jazz traditions, while also showcasing each musician's individual musical language and improvisation skills. The original piece opens with a musical battle, that has a cinematic, grandiose feel to it, almost to the point of being naive at times. The second composition has a more philosophical tone and deals with the power of communities and authorities over individuals, and the role of an individual in relation to these two. The dramatic tension carries through the battle episodes' almost overblown proportions to the peaceful ending that leaves more room for free-form improvisation. The Jazz Wars album was release in 2012, and the 60-minute-long epic is now showcased in a shorter form at the Jazz Finland stage.