Skip to content
Haarla-Krokfors Loco Motife

Penguin Beguine


Taideteos/ Art work: Countryside landscape: Kari Cavén, Kuva/ Photo: Katja Hagelstam, Suunnittelu/ Design:Santtu Parikka & Juha Lökström.

Album information

PerformerHaarla-Krokfors Loco Motife
LabelTUM Records

Petri Haussila

Where recordedMango Studios, Magnusborg, Porvoo, Finland


After their duo album Heart of a Bird (TUM 2003), Iro Haarla and Ulf Krokfors wanted to make a recording with a different overall atmosphere and have some fun doing it with a larger ensemble. To achieve this, a group of friends was brought together to form the Iro Haarla-Ulf Krokfors Loco Motife.

The music on the debut album of the band is based on an electric sound especially in the form of Haarla´s different keyboards and Mikko Iivanainen´s electric guitar. Add strong compositions by Haarla and Krokfors, powerful personal expression from the soloists - including famed Swedish trumpeter Anders Bergcrantz and saxophonists Mikko Innanen and Rasmus Korsström - and you are sure to hear prime contemporary jazz.

Penguin Beguine received the Emma Award as the Best Finnish Jazz Recording of the Year in 2005.


  1. Penguin Beguinesäv. Ulf Krokfors
  2. At Night, Cat Walkingsäv. Iro Haarla
  3. Frosty Nightsäv. Iro Haarla
  4. Bellssäv. Ulf Krokfors
  5. Samoajasäv. Ulf Krokfors
  6. Farewell Songsäv. Ulf Krokfors
  7. Voice Behind the Wallsäv. Ulf Krokfors
  8. Crimcum Cramcumsäv. Iro Haarla
  9. Beside Yousäv. Iro Haarla