Skip to content
Nina Mya

Just Another Lonely Soul


Cover: Pekka Tuppurainen

Album information

PerformerNina Mya
TypeLP, CD, digi
LabelFlame Jazz Records

Sävellykset ja sanat: Nina Mya
paitsi kappaleet 8 ja 9 Nina Mya & Jussi Lehtonen
ja kappale 11 Clifton Davis & Hal Davis
Äänitys ja miksaus ja masterointi: Tommi Vainikainen, Finnvox Studio, 2021
Levyn kannet: Pekka Tuppurainen
Valokuvat: Teemu Mattsson



Nina Myan's fourth album Just Another Lonely Soul is filled with strongly soul-influenced personal stories of loneliness and love.

Nina Mya's fourth album Just Another Lonely Soul leans distinctly more towards soul than the singer-composer's previous production, though the music's jazz elements are still in harmony and in the musicians' touch. With the exception of Never Can Say Goodbye, the compositions and lyrics are originals by the artist, and Nina’s singing style as well as the songs themselves are strongly influenced by 1970s soul names such as Stevie Wonder, Donny Hathaway and Aretha Franklin. Nina Mya has always described it difficult to separate jazz and soul influences from her music, so the album serves groove and sweet honey to listeners of both genres.

The album’s title Just Another Lonely Soul reflects not only the soul genre but also the album’s main message: grueling loneliness, moments of despair and heartbreaking love stories. In her new compositions, Nina Mya deals with the theme of loneliness from different perspectives and the lack of faith in the most painful moments of life. In addition to gloomy tones, the album also features stunningly beautiful love stories and irony from woman to man.

Nina Mya is a respecter of African American tradition, who has not only the technical prowess and rhythm of jazz but is also a strong interpreter of gospel and soul. Her style is characterized by the nuances of a dark and emotional singing voice, strong stage presence, and personal and honest lyrics.

For the album, Nina Mya has put together a band of top names in Finnish jazz to support her. The saxophone is played by Pope Puolitaival, a long-time partner and artistic producer of Nina. Varre Vartiainen is on guitar, piano is played by Henri Mäntylä, the wind section is complemented by the brilliant trumpet player Jukka Eskola and bassist Jori Huhtala and drummer Jussi Lehtonen, who has also acted as Nina's right hand as a composer and artistic producer throughout the process. In addition to this ensemble, two tracks on the album (tracks 3 and 4) are seasoned with the Hammond organ, played by Antti Kujanpää.


  1. Just Another Lonely Soul 
  2. The Strength
  3. I Don't Wanna Go Home Tonight
  4. Wait For You
  5. A Better Man
  6. If You Are Gone
  7. A Man With Hazel Eyes
  8. Blind Faith
  9. Deep In The Water
  10. You're My Flame
  11. Never Can Say Goodbye