Skip to content

Riitta Paakki Quartet

Riitta Paakki Quartet

Photo: Heidi Bergström

Riitta Paakki Quartet's music emanates a mature vision and a bright attitude. The irresistibly effortless swing from the origins of jazz blends seamlessly into the Northern tones of Riitta Paakki's compositions.

The written music gives plenty of room for interaction between the musicians, and together the band members create an expressive and joyful experience, which is conveyed to the hearts of the listeners. Riitta Paakki has released two albums with this quartet ensemble. The latest release, Piste (2020) extends the Finnish bop-master's songbook to other modern era American styles too. 

The quartet brings together various styles and distictive sounds of four Finnish top musicians. Manuel Dunkel’s tenor sax compliments Paakki’s playing in the most sensitive way, and the heavy-hitting rhythm section of Antti Lötjönen’s bass and Joonas Riippa’s drums gives a solid cornerstone to Paakki’s hard-bop-influenced compositions.

Riitta Paakki – piano
Manuel Dunkel – sax
Antti Lötjönen – bass
Joonas Riippa – drums