Joonas Haavisto Trio

Joonas Haavisto Trio

Kuva: Antti Aimo-Koivisto

Pianist Joonas Haavisto, bassist Antti Lötjönen and drummer Joonas Riippa have all established their positions amongst the Finnish "Top Ten" jazzers. They have played in e.g. UMO Jazz Orchestra, Five Cornes Quintet, Verneri Pohjola Quartet and Mikko Pellinen Mini Big Band.

Haavisto convinced the audience already in 2009 with his trio’s lauded debut Blue Waters. With their second album Micro to Macro he established himself as one of the leading pianists and composers in Finnish jazz. Micro to Macro dives into the world of physics and nature. Haavisto's intriguing compositions and the fresh Scandinavian breeze in the trio's sound have charmed the critics and audiences in Japan, where the record was voted number one within the newcomers by the country's biggest record stores, Tower Records and Disk Union. The album was released in Japan by Blue Gleam, and in Finland by Fredriksson Music.

Trio’s third album oku was released 2016 in Japan, German, Austria and Switzerland besides the Nordic countries and was favourably reviewed in several international jazz publications and newspapers. Single “Frozen” rose in jazz compositions' top 10 of Apple Music’s A-list in 2015-2016. 

In March Joonas Haavisto Trio released their fourth album, Gradation, in Japan, and it will be released in Europe later this year.

Trio has performed at numerous domestic and international festivals and they are returning to Japan this spring for five-concert tour. Joonas Haavisto has also enjoyed success in international solo piano competitions such as Jazz Improvizacija in Lithuania 2006, and Nottingham International Solo Piano Competition in 2010.