Skip to content

Iro Haarla Quartet

Iro Haarla Quartet

Photo: Maarit Kytöharju

Pianist-composer Iro Haarla’s quartet ensemble debuted at Pori Jazz festival in 2018 and has since performed at all the most significant Finnish festivals and clubs.

The quartet’s music is based on the compositions by the ECM-star Haarla, but every musician’s unique style is essential to the final tapestry of sound. The quartet’s music is a dialogue between light and dark, serene and storm, joy and sorrow. The abstract and sometimes even dissonant harmonies always strive for beauty and peace.

Iro Haarla, piano, compositions
Ulf Krokfors, double bass
Markku Ounaskari, drums 
Juhani Aaltonen, tenor saxophone, flute