To Sappho


Album information

LabelEclipse Music


Signe’s music travels between the borderlines of jazz, modern music and audio drama. The band’s original sound is born from exceptional instrumentation: the vocalist of the ensemble are Riikka Keränen, Selma Savoilainen, Josefiina Vannesluoma and Kaisa Mäensivu, who also plays the double bass in the band.

Signe’s first full-length album To Sappho is based on the preserved fragments from the Greek poet Sappho. In addition to the compositions of Vannesluoma and Savolainen, the album features compositions from Mikko Sarvanne, who is known as the leader of Muovibabylon and Hip Company ensembles, and Sampo Kasurinen, whose works have been performed for example by UMO and Vantaan Viihdeorkesteri.

To Sappho honours the poetry of 20th century. The aesthetic development of modernism is hearable in the translations stretching from ornamental and stable forms of Bliss Carman and John Myers O’Hara to Mary Barnard’s elegant and Pentti Saarikoski’s charged interpretations. The last track of the album is Edith Södergran’s poem “Tulevaisuuteni” (Min framtid), translated by Pentti Saaritsa and composed by Josefiina Vannesluoma, and it features vibraphonist Panu Savolainen, who widens the ensemble’s sound by creating a diverse harmonic basis for the song.

Signe’s soundscape echoes between several layers through time, space and different narrators. The technical producing brings new dimensions to the band’s regular acoustic sound. The music flows in the scenery of jazz, modern music and folk. The album was recorded at Finnvox studio with record-producer Markus Kärki in last November.

Eclipse Music released the new album on 22 of February 2019.


  1. In a DreamJosefiina Vannesluoma / Sappho, tr. Bliss Carman
  2. Gretan GirlsSelma Savolainen / Sappho, tr. Mary Barnard
  3. Puhun tottaSelma Savolainen / Sappho, tr. Pentti Saarikoski
  4. Ode to Aphrodite IMikko Sarvanne / Sappho, tr. John Myers O’Hara
  5. Ode to Aphrodite IIMikko Sarvanne / Sappho, tr. John Myers O’Hara
  6. Ode to Aphrodite IIIMikko Sarvanne / Sappho, tr. John Myers O’Hara
  7. AmbrosiaJosefiina Vannesluoma / Sappho, tr. Pentti Saarikoski
  8. Se kuuluu jumaliinJosefiina Vannesluoma / Sappho, tr. Pentti Saarikoski
  9. O AphroditeSampo Kasurinen / Sappho, tr. Bliss Carman
  10. Tulevaisuuteni feat. Panu SavolainenJosefiina Vannesluoma / Edith Södergran, tr. Pentti Saaritsa