Skip to content
Riitta Paakki Quartet



Design: Aimo Katajamäki

Album information

PerformerRiitta Paakki Quartet
TypeLP, CD, digi
LabelFlame Jazz Records

Sävellykset: Riitta Paakki
Äänitys ja miksaus: Miikka Huttunen / Sonic Pump Studios, 2020
Masterointi: Svante Forsbäck / Chartmakers
Valokuvat: Teemu Mattsson
Design: Aimo Katajamäki



With her album Piste, jazz pianist Riitta Paakki serves effortless swing based on the mix of jazz traditions and the deep tones of the north.

Riitta Paakki Quartet is made up of top musicians of Finnish jazz, whose second album was released in November 2020 by Flame Jazz Records. The album Piste, recorded in June 2020, contains works by pianist Riitta Paakki mainly composed in Paris the previous winter. The pieces exude a mature vision and a bright attitude.

Saxophonist Manuel Dunkel brings robust dynamics to the sound of the quartet, and the rhythm section is complemented by elegant bassist Antti Lötjönen and drummer Joonas Riippa, whose sensitivity and improvisational ability are served well in the quartet. The band released their first album Live at Koko Jazz Club in August 2018, and the record received good reviews and international attention all the way to Japan.

In Paakki's compositions, one can hear the profound sensitivity of the north, which blends seamlessly with the irresistible swing emanating from the origins of jazz. Melancholy and high spirits alternate on the record in a fascinating balance. The quartet's ensemble plays the joy of music, which is also conveyed to the hearts of the listeners.

Riitta Paakki Quartet's album is Flame Jazz Records' fifth release.

"Hard bop, soft touch." – Wif Stenger, Finnish Music Quarterly


  1. Rebecca
  2. Garag
  3. Pilot
  4. Caruso
  5. Fred
  6. 359
  7. Med High
  8. Piste