Johanna Elina Sulkunen

Our Garden


Photo: Samuli Ronkanen ; Cover design: Maikki Rantala.

Album information

PerformerJohanna Elina Sulkunen
TypeCD + digi
  • August Rosenbaum
  • Francesco Bigoni
  • Henrik Olsson
  • Håkon Berre
  • Joel Illerhag
  • Johanna Elina Sulkunen
  • Magnus Aannestad Oseth
LabelEclipse Music


Jazz vocalist Johanna Elina released her debut album, Our Garden in Finland on 23th September 2011 and in Denmark on 30th September. In Finland the album was released by Eclipse Music and in Denmark Divine Records.

Johanna Elina is perhaps best known as a member from vocal ensemble IKI. On her debut album Johanna moves smoothly between jazz, pop and world music; similarly to Joni Mitchell or Tori Amos, but with more sensitive touch.

The compositions are mainly from Johanna's pen.  Her band consists of the best jazz musicians in the Nordic: Magnus Aannestad Oseth (tp), Francesco Bigoni (sax), Henrik Olsson (g), August Rosenbaum (p, rhodes), Joel Illerhag (b) and Håkon Berre (dr, glockenspiel).


+ 6, 8: Kristian Tangvik (tu)
+ 5: Nina Braun, Clara Bryld (voc)
+ 5: Tobias Wiklund (tp, fl-h)
+ 5: Mads Emil Nielsen (dr)


  1. Our GardenJohanna Elina
  2. Mistakes Tapani Toivanen
  3. It Only Snows in Winter Johanna Elina
  4. Dream of a Family Tapani Toivanen
  5. How Can You Resist LoveJohanna Elina
  6. Strange ShoreJohanna Elina
  7. CirclesJohanna Elina
  8. First Time Love Johanna Elina
  9. April Moon Johanna Elina
  10. SleepTapani Toivanen