May Queen


Album information

TypeLP / MC / digi
LabelSuolavesi Records

Sävellykset: Mikael Saastamoinen
Sovitukset: Mikael Saastamoinen & Jussi Kannaste
Äänitys ja miksaus: Abdissa Assefa / Ambience Studio
Valokuvat: Mikael Saastamoinen
Graafinen suunnittelu: Hanne Valle



Perussastamala by Mikael Saastamoinen released its second album May Queen on 10th May 2019 with Tampere-based record label Suolavesi Records. In his new album, Saastamoinen plays together with saxophonist Jussi Kannaste.

Mikael Saastamoinen and Jussi Kannaste leads the listener to some extreme atmospheres and ambient spheres with the new May Queen album. The first album of Perussastamala was solo bass record with some noise references – the second one is more tranquil and contemplative with Saastamoinen’s sound scenery created by electric bass, effects and drum machine and saxophone by Kannaste.

Mikael Saastamoinen (b. 1991) was born in Savonlinna, and has quickly rised to be one of the most interesting Finnish jazz and avant garde artists. Saastamoinen was awarded with the We Jazz Rising Star recognition in 2018. Saastamoinen plays bass also in OK:KO, Katu Kaiku, Superposition!, Muovibabylon and Iso Auto.

Saxophonist Jussi Kannaste (b. 1976) is one of the first-row musicians in Finnish jazz. He is known from bands such as 3TM, Jaska Lukkarinen Trio, Mikko Innanen 10+ and Ricky-Tick Big Band. From year 2009 Kannaste has directed the Jazz music department in Sibelius Academy.



  1. By The Beach House
  2. Hyjy
  3. Romance (Table Fan in 29°C)
  4. Spring Clean
  5. Separation
  6. Te tuulette tänään
  7. New Earth