Katu Kaiku



Album information

PerformerKatu Kaiku
TypeLP / digi
LabelSvart Records

Sävellykset, sovitukset ja sanoitukset: Katu Kaiku, paitsi 8. The Colours Of Our Minds, sävellys ja sovitus Adele Sauros



Bold and visionary jazz-group Katu Kaiku released a new album Luna March 29th.

Taking a step away from their wilder free jazz, acoustic street performing roots, the bold, visionary Finnish trio’s new material sounds considerably more modern, with colorful, thought-out compositions filled with effects, flute playing and vocals. The album’s building blocks are dreamlike melodies, serpentine bass riffs and a captivating groove. The band inhabits the borderlands between musical genres, mixing modern jazz with progressive pop elements. With its hand-picked bassline and wordless vocals and led by tender tenor saxophone melodies, the song builds up from introspection to climax.

Katu Kaiku is formed by saxophonist Adele Sauros, bass player Mikael Saastamoinen and drummer Erik Fräki, all active members of the young Finnish avant-jazz scene. Members of Katu Kaiku also perform or have performed in groups such as Olavi Louhivuori Superposition!, VIRTA and OK:KO. Formed in 2013, Katu Kaiku represented Finland in the Young Nordic Jazz Comets showcase event in 2015, and their debut album Tokyo/Kuopio was released in 2016. The new album Luna sees the group fine tune their musical output and joins the European continuum of crossover jazz among genre luminaries such as Portico Quartet, Jaga Jazzist and The Cinematic Orchestra.

Katu Kaiku
Adele Sauros – tenor- and sopranosaxophone, flute, vocals
Mikael Saastamoinen – electric bass, effects
Erik Fräki – drums, percussion, effects, vocals


  1. Moon Lake
  2. Quote You
  3. Meteora
  4. Into The Purple
  5. 1000 Sails
  6. Last Corals
  7. Escapism
  8. The Colours Of Our Minds