Skip to content

KAIRA - Urban Sagas of Northern Cities



Album information

TypeCD + LP
LabelSvart Records

Lauri Kaira 



KAIRA tells urban sagas of northern cities.

"Kaira" is an old finnish word, which refers to vast open frontiers in the north. The band Kaira sings the urban sagas of northern cities. Stories of loving and loosing love, living everyday life.

The moniker KAIRA hides a fascinating combination of artists from the vanguard of the Finnish contemporary jazz scene, put together by Lauri Kaira, who co-wrote the album together with keyboardist Markus Niittynen. Other members in the band feature Joonatan Rautio (saxophone), Sampo Tiittanen (bass), Jussi Lehtonen (drums and percussion), and Nina Mya & Sam Huber on vocals.

Produced by composer Kaira with the assistance of Finland’s only professor of jazz music, Jukkis Uotila, the album is the fruit of a lot of time and effort. The eponymous album has a strong Nordic emphasis – its subtitle is Urban Sagas of Northern Cities – and its moods stem from long Scandinavian winters and light-filled summer nights. “Northern cool meets hot jazz and all snowmen melt in ecstasy”, as vocalist Sam Huber describes it.


  1. Shining Star
  2. Never Say Never
  3. You Are Too Perfect
  4. Playing With Your Life
  5. Magic (Beyond Words)
  6. Since Then
  7. Just The Way It Is
  8. Let's Keep It Like This
  9. Shining Star Reprise