Skip to content
Iro Haarla
Ulf "Uffe" Krokfors

Heart of a Bird


Taideteos/ Artwork: Juhani Linnovaara, Kuva/ Photo: Kaj G. Lindholm, Suunnittelu/ Design: Juha Lökström, Santtu Parikka

Album information

PerformerIro Haarla
Ulf "Uffe" Krokfors
LabelTUM Records

Antti Hytti & Petri Haussila

Where recordedGrand Theatre, Porvoo, Finland


Heart of a Bird is an intimate collaboration between two kindred spirits, pianist/harpist Iro Haarla and bassist Ulf Krokfors. The music represents free improvisation within a compositional framework.

The duo shares with the listener a beautiful, intense musical conversation, which reflects their own private feelings. On four tracks, the duo is joined by saxophonist Rasmus Korsström, adding another voice to the duo´s intimate sound.

Heart of a Bird was composed in equal shares by Haarla and Krokfors. In addition to their own compositions, the duo performs its own unique take on Antti Hytti´s "Solveig´s song", a composition also recorded by the ensemble Suhkan Uhka on Suhka (TUM CD 001).


  1. Heart Of A Birdsäv. Ulf Krokfors
  2. Springlike Grovesäv. Ulf Krokfors
  3. Spring Flowersäv. Ulf Krokfors
  4. Farewell To Valomäkisäv. Iro Haarla
  5. Big, Big Problemssäv. Ulf Krokfors
  6. Lullaby To The Unbornsäv. Iro Haarla
  7. Gates Of Hadessäv. Iro Haarla
  8. Forest Songsäv. Ulf Krokfors
  9. Longingsäv. Iro Haarla
  10. Elephantine Memoriessäv. Iro Haarla
  11. Solveig's Songsäv. Antti Hytti
  12. Light In The Sadnesssäv. Iro Haarla