Jorma Tapio & Kaski



Cover photo: I.K.Inha, courtesy of Museovirasto / Layout: Kai Johansson

Album information

PerformerJorma Tapio & Kaski
LabelKarkia Mistika Records
Where recordedJJ Studio, Tampere
GenreFree jazz


Ghatika is the debut album by trio Jorma Tapio & Kaski.

Jorma Tapio & Kaski couple raw energy with tenderly melodious moments in their blend of free jazz. Influenced by folk and even classical music, the majority of their compositions comes from the pen of the leader-saxophonist Jorma Tapio. An experienced artist and leader of several groups of his own, Tapio is known for his strong presence in the influential outfit Sound & Fury and for his collaboration with Norwegian drummer-percussionist Terje Insungset. The rhythm section is composed of Black Motor troupers, bassist Ville Rauhala and drummer Simo Laihonen.

Ghatika is their debut recording. The album was shortlisted among the best albums of 2016 by New York City Jazz Record.


  1. Desert RideTapio/Rauhala/Laihonen
  2. GhatikaTapio
  3. Bruremarsj Norwegian trad.
  4. Tutankhamon Tapio (inspired by a theme by Malachi Favors)
  5. Receive Metrad./arr.Tapio
  6. Trav'lin' LightMundy/Young/Mercer
  7. Huilua Tapio/Rauhala/Laihonen
  8. Moving FingersTapio
  9. Peace is the Language of the StarsTapio