Tomi Salesvuo East Funk Attack



Album information

PerformerTomi Salesvuo East Funk Attack

Tomi Salesvuo

Where recordedMankku Studiot, Musala II ja JKB studiot


Tomi Salesvuo East Funk Attack is a new group founded in 2013. With this energetic band drummer Salesvuo is proud to introduce a funk collection of new youngsters together with monster musicians like guitarist Marzi Nyman. EFA is their debut album.

Salesvuo had planned founding a bigger group to realise his vision of a contemporary funk sound for two years before the birth of East Funk Attack. This vision includes combing the joy of playing, compelling melodies, hypnotic rhythms and the improvisational freedom of jazz into one irresistible musical package. With the East Funk Attack he has been able to turn his ideas into all this and more.

"To play music with energy and dynamics, to make music that happens here and now, and with musicians without genre frontiers is one of my foremost missions, challenges and dreams in life! When you play music with a nine-piece orchestra like East Funk Attack, you have a great chance to really lock in the groove and make your moves tight. Playing a steady funk groove with just one chord and breathing the hypnotic beat with your band mates is an unbelievable feeling”, describes Salesvuo.

Tomi has a sense of melody and groove that is not heard every day and he manages to combine catchy vocal lines with funky horn lines and his own smoking rhythm keeping, making this album a very fine example of music – not just made in Finland but made for the whole world to hear. - Nils Landgren, singer, trombonist, funk artist from Sweden

Funk with full power!


  1. EFASalesvuo
  2. What Do You Need?Salesvuo
  3. Mr. PrinceSalesvuo
  4. Doin' ItHancock, Ragin, Parker
  5. Hang Up Your Hang UpsHancock, Ragin, Jackson
  6. JojoKoski, Vuorinen, Salesvuo
  7. Jones Boogies Another RoundSalesvuo
  8. Be With MeSalesvuo